ACS Award in Surface Chemistry

Sponsor: Procter & Gamble

Purpose: To recognize distinguished services in the advancement of surface chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.  

Eligibility: A nominee must have demonstrated extensive contributions to the advancement of surface chemistry. Activities recognized by the award may include such fields as teaching, writing, research, and administration. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & SupportProcter & Gamble began sponsorsing the award in 2018. The ACS Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry sponsorsed the award in 2017. No award was presented in 2015 and 2016. The ACS Publications journal Langmuir and the ACS Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry co-sponsored the Arthur W. Adamson Award for Distinguished Service from 2012-2014. No award was presented in 2011. The ACS sponsored the award from 2008-2010. The award was established as the Arthur W. Adamson Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Surface Chemistry by Occidental Petroleum Corp. in 1991 and supported from 1993-2007.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: (202) 872-4575
Fax: (202) 776-8008


2021: Vicki H. Grassian

2020: Teri W. Odom

2019: Hans-Joachim Freund

2018: Stacey F. Bent

2017: Cynthia M. Friend

2014: Melissa A. Hines

2013: Ulrike Diebold

2012: Steven J. Sibener

2010: Patricia A. Thiel

2009: David A. King

2008: Francisco Zaera

2007: Charles T. Campbell

2006: Steven L. Bernasek

2005: Robert J. Hamers

2004: John C. Hemminger

2003: David L. Allara and Ralph G. Nuzzo

2002: D. Wayne Goodman

2001: J. Michael White

2000: Alvin W. Czanderna

1999: John T. Yates, Jr.

1998: Kenneth B. Eisenthal

1997: Robert J. Madix

1996: Robert Gomer

1995: W. Henry Weinberg

1994: Gabor A. Somorjai

1993: David M. Hercules

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Hans-Joachim Freund (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Gerard Baillely (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS