Arthur C. Cope Award

Sponsor: The Arthur C. Cope Fund

Purpose: To recognize outstanding achievement in the field of organic chemistry, the significance of which has become apparent within the five years preceding the year in which the award will be considered.

Nature: The award consists of $25,000, a medallion with a presentation box, and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the spring national meeting at which the award will be presented and to the fall national meeting to deliver an award address will be reimbursed. The medallion will be presented during the award address.

An unrestricted grant-in-aid of $150,000 for research in organic chemistry, under the direction of the recipient, designated as an Arthur C. Cope Fund Grant, will be made to any university or nonprofit institution selected by the recipient. A recipient may choose to assign the Arthur C. Cope Fund Grant to an institution for use by others for research or education in organic chemistry.

Eligibility: The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: In 1972, the ACS Board of Directors accepted responsibility for administering an award created under the terms of the will of Arthur C. Cope.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: (202) 872-4575
Fax: (202) 776-8008


2021:  John Hartwig

2020: Dennis A. Dougherty

2019: Dieter Seebach

2018: Steven V. Ley

2017: Carolyn R. Bertozzi

2016: Eric N. Jacobsen

2015: Paul A. Wender

2014: Stuart L. Schreiber

2013: Stephen L. Buchwald

2012: Chi-Huey Wong

2011: Nicholas J. Turro

2010: Kendall N. Houk

2009: Manfred T. Reetz

2008: James F. Stoddart

2007: Jean M. J.FrÉchet

2006: Peter G. Schultz

2005: K.C. Nicolaou

2004: Barry M. Trost

2003: Larry E. Overman

2002: Robert H. Grubbs

2001: George A. Olah

2000: David A. Evans

1999: Ralph F. Hirschmann

1998: Samuel J. Danishefsky

1997: Ryoji Noyori

1996: Robert G. Bergman

1995: George M. Whitesides

1994: John D. Roberts

1993: Peter B. Dervan

1992: K. Barry Sharpless

1991: Gerhard L. Closs

1990: Koji Nakanishi

1989: William S. Johnson

1988: Kenneth B. Wiberg

1987: Ronald Breslow

1986: Duilio Arigoni

1984: Albert J. Eschenmoser

1982: Frank H. Westheimer

1980: Gilbert J. Stork

1978: Orville L. Chapman

1976: Elias J. Corey

1974: Donald J. Cram

1973: Roald Hoffmann and Robert B. Woodward

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Dieter Seebach (center) is presented his award by Peter K. Dorhout, ACS Immediate Past President (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS