Claude S. Hudson Award in Carbohydrate Chemistry

Claude S. Hudson Award in Carbohydrate Chemistry

Sponsor: The National Starch, LLC

Purpose: To recognize outstanding contributions to carbohydrate chemistry whether in education, research, or applications.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $1,000 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The award is presented biennially in odd-numbered years.

Eligibility: A nominee must have made outstanding contributions to carbohydrate chemistry. The award will be granted without regard to age or nationality.

Deadline: November 1 (biennial review)

Establishment & Support: The National Starch, LLC. assumed sponsorship of the award in 1995. The award was financed by the ACS Division of Carbohydrate Chemistry in 1994 and 1995. Merck Research Laboratories sponsored the award from 1983 to 1993. The award was established in 1946 and administered by the ACS Division of Carbohydrate Chemistry.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4408
Fax: 202-776-8008


2009 Peter H. Seeberger

2007 Pierre Sinay

2005 David R. Bundle

2003 Robert J. Linhardt

2001 Yuan Chuan Lee

1999 Chi-Huey Wong

1997 Samuel J. Danishefsky

1995 Tomoya Ogawa

1994 J. F. G. Vliegenthart

1993 Irwin J. Goldstein

1992 Akira Kobata

1991 Per J. Garegg

1990 Bertram O. Fraser-Reid

1989 Walter A. Szarek

1988 Leslie Hough

1987 Stephen J. Angyal

1986 Gerald O. Aspinall

1985 Hans Paulsen

1984 Laurens Anderson

1983 Bengt Lindberg

1982 Stephen Hanessian

1981 Clinton E. Ballou

1980 George A. Jeffrey

1979 Arthur S. Perlin

1978 Michael Heidelberger

1977 Jack J. Fox

1976 Sidney M. Cantor

1975 Hans H. Baer

1974 Wendell W. Binkley

1973 Roger W. Jeanloz

1972 Derek Horton

1971 Robert S. Tipson

1970 Norman F. Kennedy

1969 John K. Netherton Jones

1968 Hewitt G. Fletcher, Jr.

1967 W. Z. Hassid

1966 Raymond U. Lemieux

1965 C. G. Caldwell

1964 Dexter French

1963 Nelson K. Richtmyer

1962 Fred Smith

1961 John C. Sowden

1960 Roy L. Whistler

1959 W. Ward Pigman

1958 Hermann O. L. Fischer

1957 Julian K. Dale

1956 James M. D. Brown

1955 Kenneth R. Brown

1954 Horace S. Isbell

1953 George P. Meade

1952 Melville L. Wolfrom

1951 William D. Horne

1950 William B. Newkirk

1949 Frederick W. Zerban

1947 Frederick J. Bates

1946 Claude S. Hudson

2009 recipient Peter Seeberger (second to
right) is presented his award by Board Member
Pat Confalone (second to left), President-Elect
Joseph Francisco (left), and President Thomas
Lane (right).