E. V. Murphree Award in Industrial and Engineering Chemistry

Purpose: To stimulate fundamental research in industrial and engineering chemistry, the development of chemical engineering principles and its application to industrial processes.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $1,000 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: A nominee must have accomplished outstanding research of a theoretical or experimental nature in the fields of industrial chemistry or chemical engineering. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The ExxonMobil Research & Engineering Company established the award in 1955.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021 Yong Wang

2020 Enrique Iglesia

2019 Hariklia “Lili” Deligianni

2018 Linda J. Broadbelt

2017 Eleftherios Terry Papoutsakis

2016 Michael Thackeray

2015 Joseph R. Zoeller

2014 Joan F. Brennecke

2013 Esther S. Takeuchi

2012 Michael F. Doherty

2011 Norman N. Li

2010 Gregory N. Stephanopoulos

2009 Milorad (Mike) P. Dudukovic

2008 Georges Belfort

2007 Wolfgang F. Holderich

2006 Liang-Shih Fan

2005 Mark E. Davis

2004 James E. Lyons

2003 Leo E. Manzer

2002 George R. Lester

2001 John N. Armor

2000 J. Larry Duda

1999 Donald R. Paul

1998 Stanley I. Sandler

1997 Arthur W. Westerberg

1996 Eli Ruckenstein

1995 Charles A. Eckert

1994 Edwin N. Lightfoot

1993 James J. Carberry

1992 Clarence D. Chang

1991 Richard Alkire

1990 L. E. Scriven

1989 Warren E. Stewart

1988 Jule A. Rabo

1987 Wolfgang M. H. Sachtler

1986 John H. Sinfelt

1985 Michel Boudart

1984 Robert K. Grasselli

1983 Herman Pines

1982 Sol W. Weller

1981 G. Alex Mills

1980 Milton Orchin

1979 John M. Prausnitz

1978 Donald F. Othmer

1977 Alexis Voorhies, Jr.

1976 James F. Roth

1975 Donald L. Katz

1974 Herman S. Bloch

1973 Thomas K. Sherwood

1972 Paul B. Weisz

1971 Heinz Heinemann

1970 Peter V. Danckwerts

1969 Alex G. Oblad

1968 Melvin A. Cook

1967 Alfred Clark

1966 Richard H. Wilhelm

1965 Vladimir Haensel

1964 Bruce H. Sage

1963 Manson Benedict

1962 Eugene J. Houdry

1961 Olaf A. Hougen

1960 Neal R. Amundson

1959 Edwin R. Gilliland

1958 duBois Eastman

1957 Warren K. Lewis

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Hariklia (Lili) Deligianni (center) is presented her award by sponsor representative, Brandon Weldon (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS