Kathryn C. Hach Award for Entrepreneurial Success

Sponsor: Kathryn C. Hach Award Fund

Purpose: To recognize outstanding entrepreneurs who have created a commercially viable business within the chemical enterprise. Starting with a good idea, sustained by passion, fueled by persistence and hard work, the award recipient created something where nothing existed before. The awardee is recognized for creating a new product, service, company or industry based on the transforming power of chemistry to improve people’s lives. The hallmark of this contribution is impact: positive impact on people’s lives and positive impact on the economy by creating chemistry jobs that produce a significant economic benefit.

Nature: The award will consist of $20,000, a certificate, and a feature article in an official ACS publication (e.g., C&EN) on the awardee(s) and his/her business. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: Only ACS members are eligible for this award. Nominees may include individual entrepreneurs or teams (maximum three individuals). If a team wins the Award, a cash award of $20,000 will be shared equally by all team members; the team member(s) who travel to the meeting will also share the $2,500 for travel expenses. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, or educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The award was established in 2012 and is supported through the Kathryn C. Hach Award Endowment.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4409
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021  Craig Hawker

2020  Paul Schimmel

2019   Jack N. Driscoll

2018   Javier Garcia Martinez

2017   David R. Walt

2016   Scott Allen, Anthony R. Eisenhut, and Geoffrey W. Coates

2015   Terry L. Brewer

2014   Joseph M. DeSimone, Benjamin W. Maynor, Jason P. Rolland

2019 recipient Jack N. Driscoll (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Jennifer L. Maclachlan (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS