Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal

Sponsor: Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal Endowment

Purpose: To recognize distinguished service to chemistry by women chemists.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000, a medallion with a presentation box, and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The medallion will be presented at the WCC luncheon held at the ACS spring national meeting.

Eligibility: A nominee must be a citizen of the United States and have performed distinguished service to chemistry. The award will be granted regardless of race, age, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The award was established in 1936 through a donation from Francis P. Garvan and has been supported by a fund set up at that time. The award was sponsored by W. R. Grace and Co. from 1979 to 1983. Effective with the 1984 award, Olin Corporation assumed sponsorship.

Online Nomination Procedures

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021 Carol J. Burns

2020 Caroline Chick Jarrold

2019 Lisa McElwee-White

2018 Valerie J. Kuck

2017 Barbara J. Finlayson-Pitts

2016 Annie B. Kersting

2015 Angela K. Wilson

2014 Marsha I. Lester

2013 Susan M. Kauzlarich

2012 Sue B. Clark

2011 Sherry J. Yennello

2010 Judith C. Giordan

2009 Kathlyn A. Parker

2008 Elizabeth C. Theil

2007 Laura L. Kiessling

2006 Lila M. Gierasch

2005 Frances H. Arnold

2004 Sandra C. Greer

2003 Martha Greenblatt

2002 Marion C. Thurnauer

2001 Susan S. Taylor

2000 F. Ann Walker

1999 Cynthia A. Maryanoff

1998 Joanna S. Fowler

1997 Karen W. Morse

1996 Geraldine L. Richmond

1995 Angelica M. Stacy

1994 Barbara J. Garrison

1993 Edith M. Flanigen

1992 Jacqueline K. Barton

1991 Cynthia M. Friend

1990 Darleane C. Hoffman

1989 Kathleen C. Taylor

1988 Marye Anne Fox

1987 Janet G. Osteryoung

1986 Jeanette G. Grasselli

1985 Catherine C. Fenselau

1984 Martha L. Ludwig

1983 Ines Mandl

1982 Sara Jane Rhoads

1981 Elizabeth K. Weisburger

1980 Helen M. Free

1979 Jenny P. Glusker

1978 Madeleine M. JoulliƩ

1977 Marjorie G. Horning

1976 Isabella L. Karle

1975 Marjorie C. Caserio

1974 Joyce J. Kaufman

1973 Mary L. Good

1972 Jean'ne M. Shreeve

1971 Mary Fieser

1970 Ruth R. Benerito

1969 Sofia Simmonds

1968 Gertrude B. Elion

1967 Marjorie J. Vold

1966 Mary L. Peterman

1965 Gertrude E. Perlmann

1964 Birgit Vennesland

1963 Mildred Cohn

1962 Helen M. Dyer

1961 Sarah Ratner

1960 Mary L. Caldwell

1959 Dorothy V. Nightingale

1958 Arda A. Green

1957 Lucy W. Pickett

1956 Allene R. Jeanes

1955 Grace Medes

1954 Betty Sullivan

1953 Leonora N. Bilger

1952 Gladys A. Emerson

1951 Katherine B. Blodgett

1950 Pauline Beery Mack

1949 Agnes Fay Morgan

1948 Gerty T. Cori

1947 Mary Lura Sherrill

1946 Icie G. Macy-Hoobler

1942 Florence B. Seibert

1940 Mary E. Pennington

1937 Emma P. Carr

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Lisa McElwee-White (second to left) is presented her award by sponsor representatives, Kimberly A. Woznack (second to right), Katherine L. Lee, ACS Board of Directors (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS