Frank H. Field and Joe L. Franklin Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry

Purpose: To recognize outstanding achievement in the development or application of mass spectrometry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: In odd-numbered years, the award is presented for advances in techniques or fundamental processes in mass spectrometry. Recognition is given in even-numbered years to development of the applications of mass spectrometry.The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: Waters Corporation began sponsoring the award in 2007. The ACS sponsored the award in 2000 and 2006. Bruker Daltonics sponsored the award from 2001 to 2005. The American Chemical Society financed the award in 2000. Extranuclear Laboratories established the award in 1983.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2017 Vicki H. Wysocki

2016 Albert J. R. Heck

2015 Hilkka I. Kenttämaa

2014 Evan R. Williams

2013 David H. Russell

2012 Scott A. McLuckey

2011 Robert J. Cotter

2010 Catherine Costello

2009 Peter B. Armentrout

2008 Catherine C. Fenselau

2007 Jean H. Futrell

2006 Richard M. Caprioli

2005 Marvin L. Vestal

2004 Kenneth G. Standing

2003 Jesse L. Beauchamp

2002 Brian T. Chait

2001 Helmut Schwarz

2000 Donald F. Hunt

1999 Michael L. Gross

1998 Keith R. Jennings

1997 Charles L. Wilkins

1996 Michael T. Bowers

1995 Melvin B. Comisarow and Alan G. Marshall

1994 Paul Kebarle

1993 Seymour Meyerson

1992 Burnaby Munson

1991 R. Graham Cooks

1990 Evan C. and Marjorie G. Horning

1989 Fred W. McLafferty

1988 Frank H. Field

1987 John Beynon

1986 Klaus Biemann

1985 A. O. C. Nier

2016 recipient Albert J. R. Heck (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative Don Harris (right) and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).