Irving Langmuir Award in Chemical Physics

Sponsored by the Journal of Chemical Physics and the ACS Division of Physical Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize and encourage outstanding interdisciplinary research in chemistry and physics, in the spirit of Irving Langmuir.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. The American Chemical Society makes the presentation in even-numbered years. The American Physical Society makes the presentation in odd-numbered years. Up to $1,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Rules of Eligibility: A nominee must have made an outstanding contribution to chemical physics or physical chemistry within the 10 years preceding the current nomination. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background. No individual may receive a second Irving Langmuir Award or Prize.

Establishment and Support: The Journal of Chemical Physics and the ACS Division of Physical Chemistry began cosponsoring the award in 2020. The ACS Division of Physical Chemistry and the ACS cosponsored the award 2018-2019. The ACS Division of Physical Chemistry cosponsored the award with GE Global Research from 2010-2017. In 2006, GE Global Research assumed full sponsorship until 2009. The General Electric Foundation established the award in 1964.

Deadline: November 1 (presented biennially in the even years)

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St. NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4408
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2020 Veronica Vaida

2018 George W. Flynn

2016 George C. Schatz

2014 Mark A. Johnson

2012 James L. Skinner

2010 A. Welford Castleman, Jr

2008 Daniel M. Neumark

2006 F. Fleming Crim, Jr.

2004 Mark A. Ratner

2002 Mostafa A. El-Sayed

2000 Richard J. Saykally

1998 Alexander Pines

1994 Robert G. Parr

1996 W. C. Lineberger

1992 John Ross

1990 William H. Miller

1988 Richard B. Bernstein

1986 Sidney W. Benson

1984 Robert W. Zwanzig

1982 Benjamin Widom

1980 William A. Klemperer

1978 Rudolph A. Marcus

1976 John S. Waugh

1974 Harry G. Drickamer

1972 Harden M. McConnell

1970 John A. Pople

1968 Henry Eyring

1966 Herbert S. Gutowsky

1965 John H. Van Vleck*

1967 John C. Slater*

1969 Charles P. Slichter*

1971 Michael E. Fisher*

1973 Peter M. Rentzepis*

1975 Robert H. Cole*

1977 Aneesur Rahman*

1979 Donald S. McClure*

1981 Willis H. Flygare*

1983 Dudley R. Herschbach*

1985 Richard N. Zare*

1987 Martin Karplus*

1989 Frank H. Stillinger*

1991 Richard E. Smalley*

1993 J. David Litsper*

1995 George B. Benedek*

1997 Jack H. Freed*

1999 Daniel Kivelson*

2001 Louis E. Brus*

2003 Phaedon Avouris*

2005 David Chandler*

2007 Gabor A. Somorjai*

2009 W.E. Moerner*

*Selection and presentation made by the Division of Chemical Physics of the American Physical Society

2018 recipient George W. Flynn (second to left) is presented his award by sponsor representative Gregory Engel (right), Paul W. Jagodzinski, ACS Board of Directors (second to right), and Peter K. Dorhout, ACS President (left).