ACS is committed to helping combat the global COVID-19 pandemic with initiatives and free resources. Learn More

James Flack Norris Award in Physical Organic Chemistry

Purpose: To encourage and reward outstanding contributions to physical organic chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review)

Establishment & Support: The ACS Northeastern Section established the award in 1963 in commemoration of James Flack Norris. It is maintained from the income of the section's Norris Fund. This award is distinct from the James Flack Norris Award of the ACS Northeastern Section, for Outstanding Achievement in the Teaching of Chemistry, which is a local section award administered by the ACS Northeastern Section.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021: Peter Chen

2020: Herbert Mayr

2019: Eric V. Anslyn

2018: Cynthia J. Burrows

2017: Robert A. Moss

2016: J.C. (Tito) Scaiano

2015: Charles L. Perrin

2014: Matthew S. Platz

2013: Ned A. Porter

2012: Hans J. Reich

2011: Weston T. Borden

2010: John E. Baldwin

2009: Bernd Giese

2008: Dennis A. Dougherty

2007: Ben L. Feringa

2006: Michael R. Wasielewski

2005: Martin Saunders

2004: C. Dale Poulter

2003: Robert G. Bergman

2002: Charles H. DePuy

2001: Josef Michl

2000: Martin E. Newcomb

1999: Barry K. Carpenter

1998: Peter J. Stang

1997: Julius Rebek, Jr.

1996: Thomas C. Bruice

1995: William P. Jencks

1994: George M. Whitesides

1993: Keith U. Ingold

1992: Joseph F. Bunnett

1991: Kendall N. Houk

1990: Norman L. Allinger

1989: William von E. Doering

1988: Nicholas J. Turro

1987: Paul von RaguÉ Schleyer

1986: John I. Brauman

1985: Paul G. Gassman

1984: Michael J. S. Dewar

1983: Glen A. Russell

1982: Andrew Streitwieser, Jr.

1981: Jay K. Kochi

1980: Ronald Breslow

1979: John D. Roberts

1978: Jerome A. Berson

1977: Edward M. Arnett

1976: Howard E. Zimmerman

1975: Kurt M. Mislow

1974: Gerhard L. Closs

1973: Kenneth B. Wiberg

1972: Stanley J. Cristol

1971: Cheves Walling

1970: Frank H. Westheimer

1969: Paul D. Bartlett

1968: George S. Hammond

1967: Saul Winstein

1966: Louis P. Hammett

1965: Christopher K. Ingold

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Eric V. Anslyn (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Andrew Scholte (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS