James T. Grady-James H. Stack Award for Interpreting Chemistry for the Public

Purpose: To recognize, encourage, and stimulate outstanding reporting directly to the public, which materially increases the public's knowledge and understanding of chemistry, chemical engineering, and related fields.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000, a medallion with a presentation box, and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The medallion will be presented during the award address.

Eligibility: A nominee must have made noteworthy presentations through a medium of public communication to increase the American public's understanding of chemistry and chemical progress. This information will have been disseminated through the press, radio, television, films, online media, the lecture platform, or books for the lay public. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: In 1984 James H. Stack was added to the award name. The award was established in 1955 as the James T. Grady Award and is supported by the ACS.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021: Sam Kean

2020: Raychelle Burks

2019: Sir Martyn Poliakoff

2018: Bassam Z. Shakhashiri

2017: Thomas A. Hager

2016: Peter Atkins

2015: Deborah L. Blum

2014: Alan Alda

2013: Shirley O. Corriher

2012: Paul Raeburn

2011: Theodore W. Gray

2010: Ron Seely

2009: Roald Hoffmann

2008: Harold McGee

2007: Stuart F. Brown

2006: Philip Ball

2005: Robert L. Wolke

2004: William S. Hammack

2003: Boyce Rensberger

2002: Curt Suplee

2001: David Perlman

2000: Jeff Wheelwright

1999: Joseph A. Schwarcz

1998: Joseph W. Palca

1997: Richard Lipkin

1996: Elizabeth Pennisi

1995: Ivan Amato

1994: Don Herbert

1993: Tom Siegfried

1992: Malcolm W. Browne

1991: Betty Debnam

1990: Jerry E. Bishop

1989: Robert Kanigel

1988: Arthur Fisher

1987: Al Rossiter, Jr.

1986: Ben Patrusky

1985: Joe Alper

1984: Cristine Russell

1983: Matt Clark

1982: Albert Rosenfeld

1981: Robert W. Cooke

1979: Peter Gwynne

1980: Edward Edelson

1978: Michael Woods

1977: Patrick Young

1976: Gene Bylinsky

1975: Jon Franklin

1974: Ronald Kotulak

1973: O. A. Battista

1972: Dan Q. Posin

1971: Victor Cohn

1970: Robert C. Cowen

1969: Walter Sullivan

1968: Raymond A. Bruner

1967: Irving S. Bengelsdorf

1966: Frank E. Carey

1965: Isaac Asimov

1964: Nate Haseltine

1963: Lawrence Lessing

1962: John F. Baxter

1961: David Dietz

1960: Watson Davis

1959: Alton L. Blakeslee

1958: William L. Laurence

1957: David H. Killeffer

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Sir Martyn Poliakoff (not pictured) is presented his award by sponsor representative Amber F. Charlebois (center), Kathleen M. Schulz, ACS Board of Directors (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS