Joel Henry Hildebrand Award in the Theoretical and Experimental Chemistry of Liquids

Purpose: To recognize distinguished contributions to the understanding of the chemistry and physics of liquids.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $1,000 in travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Co. has sponsored the award since 1992. Sponsorship was assumed by E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Co. from 1989 to 1992. The Society sponsored the 1988 presentation. The award was established in 1980 in recognition of the scientific contributions of ACS Past President Joel H. Hildebrand. The award was sponsored by the Shell Companies Foundation, Inc. from 1981 to 1987. The first award was presented to Dr. Hildebrand as part of the observances of his 100th birthday in November 1981.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2017 Salvatore Torquato

2016 Kenneth S. Schweizer

2015 Mark Maroncelli

2014 Jack H. Freed

2013 Mark D. Ediger

2012 William L. Jorgensen

2011 Geraldine L. Richmond

2010 Peter Rossky

2009 Graham R. Fleming

2008 Pablo G. Debenedetti

2007 Keith E. Gubbins

2006 Kenneth B. Eisenthal

2005 James T. Hynes

2004 C. Austen Angell

2003 Lesser Blum

2002 Bruce J. Berne

2001 William M. Gelbart

2000 Harry L. Frisch

1999 Douglas J. Henderson

1998 Irwin Oppenheim

1997 Harold L. Friedman

1996 George Stell

1995 Michael E. Fisher

1994 Robert W. Zwanzig

1993 Jerome K. Percus

1992 Benjamin Widom

1991 Howard Reiss

1990 John D. Weeks

1989 David Chandler

1988 Hans C. Anderson

1987 Stuart A. Rice

1986 Frank H. Stillinger

1985 Berni J. Alder

1984 Robert L. Scott

1983 Jiri Jonas

1981 Joel H. Hildebrand

2016 recipient Kenneth S. Schweizer (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative José G. Santiesteban (right) and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).