Nakanishi Prize

Sponsor: The Nakanishi Prize Endowment

Purpose: To recognize and stimulate significant work that extends chemical and spectroscopic methods to the study of important biological phenomena.

Nature: The prize consists of $5,000, a medallion with a presentation box, and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. Presentations in odd-numbered years are administered by the ACS and in even-numbered years by the Chemical Society of Japan. The medallion will be presented during the award address.

Eligibility: The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background for outstanding scientific achievement. Special consideration will be given for work that has contributed broadly on an international scope.

Establishment & Support: The prize was established in 1995 by the students and colleagues of Koji Nakanishi in the United States and Japan and by members of the scientific community of both countries who have benefited by his nurturing of collaborative and interdisciplinary science. Consequently the prize is given in the U.S. and in Japan in alternate years through the designated Societies. The separate endowments are administered accordingly.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021: Mei Hong

2020: Yoshito Kishi*

2019: Lewis E. Kay

2018: Nobuyuki Harada*  

2017: Martin Gruebele

2016: Shoichi Kusumoto*

2015: Fred W. McLafferty

2014: Jerrold Meinwald*

2013: Arthur G. Palmer, III

2012: Daisuke Uemura*

2011: C. Dale Poulter

2010: Shosuke Yamamura*

2009: JoAnne Stubbe

2007: Hung-wen Liu

2005: Stephen J. Benkovic

2003: A. Ian Scott

2001: John D. Roberts

1999: Jeremy R. Knowles

1997: Frank H. Westheimer

1996: Yoshimasa Hirata*

1998: Albert J. Eschenmoser*

2000: Satoshi Omura*

2002: Sir Jack Baldwin*

2004: Isao Kitagawa*

2006: Takeshi Yasumoto*

2008: Michel Rohmer*

*Selection and presentation made by the Chemical Society of Japan.

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Lewis E. Kay (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative Thomas M. Connelly, Jr. (right), ACS Executive Director & CEO and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS