Nobel Laureate Signature Award for Graduate Education in Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize an outstanding graduate student and her or his preceptor(s), in the field of chemistry, as broadly defined.

Nature: The graduate student will receive $3,000 and a plaque inscribed with the signatures of Nobel laureates. The student's preceptor(s) will receive $3,000 and a plaque for permanent display in the institution's chemistry department. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed by the sponsor.

Eligibility: The graduate student nominee must have completed a Ph.D. dissertation in chemistry within the 12-month period before the deadline for receipt of nominations. The award will recognize only work done while the nominee was a graduate student. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Nominating Procedure: A nomination consists of (1) a nominator form including a brief biographical sketch of the graduate student nominee and the preceptor(s); (2) a synopsis of the nominee's Ph.D. dissertation no longer than 10 typewritten pages (double-spaced); and (3) one or two support forms from experts in the field of the dissertation independently appraising its significance. All documents must be in English.

Note: The Nobel Laureate Signature Award for Graduate Education in Chemistry is sponsored by Avantor Performance Materials, Inc. Designation of the award as the Nobel Laureate Signature Award is made with the acquiescence of the Nobel Foundation.

Deadline: November 1

Establishment & Support: The award was established in 1978 by Avantor Performance Materials, Inc. (formerly Mallinckrodt Baker Inc.) as the Nobel Laureate Signature Award for a Graduate Student in Chemistry. In 1980 the award was extended to recognize the student's preceptor(s) and its title was changed.

Contact Information

Awards Office

American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: (202) 872-4575
Fax: (202) 776-8008


2017 Junqi Li and Martin D. Burke

2016 Matthew J. Polinski and Thomas E. Albrecht-Schmitt 

2015 Denis Malyshev and Floyd Romesberg.

2014 Livia S. Eberlin and R. Graham Cooks

2013 Bryan C. Dickinson and Christopher J. Chang

2012 Xin Zhang and Shu-ou Shan

2011 Pingwu Du and Richard Eisenberg

2010 Sang-Hee Shim and Martin T. Zanni

2009 Laura A. Banaszynski and Thomas J. Wandless

2008 Rebecca Anne Nelson and David Eisenberg

2007 Anirban Banerjee and Gregory L. Verdine

2006 Raquel L. Lieberman and Amy C. Rosenzweig

2005 Christy L. Haynes and Richard P. Van Duyne

2004 So-Jung Park and Chad A. Mirkin

2003 Phil S. Baran and K.C. Nicolaou

2002 F. Dean Toste and Barry M. Trost

2001 Martin T. Zanni and Daniel M. Neumark

2000 S. Alex Kandel and Richard N. Zare

1999 Justin Du Bois and Erick M. Carreira

1998 Jaqueline Kiplinger and Thomas G. Richmond

1997 Christopher B. Murray and Moungi Bawendi

1996 Stephan Stranick and Paul S. Weiss

1995 Minhaeng Cho and Graham R. Fleming

1994 Mark W. Grinstaff and Kenneth S. Suslick

1993 Andrew D. Johnson and Sylvia T. Ceyer

1992 Marcos Dantus and Ahmed Zewail

1991 Susan T. Graul and Robert R. Squires

1990 Yongqin Chen, Robert W. Field, and James L. Kinsey

1989 Nicholas J. Kirchner and Michael T. Bowers

1988 David L. Clark and Malcolm H. Chisholm

1987 Mark D. Hollingsworth and J. Michael McBride

1986 Robert L. Whetten, Gregory S. Ezra, and Edward R. Grant

1985 Peter G. Schultz and Peter B. Dervan

1984 Christopher S. Gudeman and R. Claude Woods

1983 David J. Nesbitt, James T. Hynes, and Stephen R. Leone

1982 Warren S. Warren and Alexander Pines

1981 James C. Weisshaar

1980 Wayne L. Gladfelter

2016 student recipient Matthew J. Polinski (second to left) and preceptor Thomas E. Albrecht-Schmitt (second to right) are presented their award by sponsor representative Nandkumar V. Deorkar (right) and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).