Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry

Purpose: To encourage and reward outstanding research in physical chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: A nominee must have accomplished outstanding research of a theoretical or experimental nature in the field of physical chemistry. Because much of the impact of research depends upon the extension of the work by others, some consideration should be given to the nominee's success as a mentor and colleague. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review)

Establishment & Support: The award has been sponsored by E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Co. since 1979. From 1970 to 1976 the award was sponsored by the Exxon Chemical Co. U.S.A. No awards were presented from 1977 to 1980. The Humble Oil and Refining Co. established the award in 1960.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2017: Bruce J. Berne

2016: Mark A. Ratner

2015: Xiaoliang Sunney Xie

2014: Henry F. Schaefer III

2013: William E. Moerner

2012: David Chandler

2011: Klaus MÜllen

2010: Timothy P. Lodge

2009: Takuzo Aida

2008: James E. McGrath

2007: Ludwik Leibler

2006: Egbert W. Meijer

2005: Samuel I. Stupp

2004: Virgil Percec

2003: Maurice S. Brookhart

2002: Krzysztof (Kris) Matyjaszewski

2001: David A. Tirrell

2000: Jean M. J. FrÉchet

1999: Robert S. Langer

1998: Gerhard Wegner

1997: William J. MacKnight

1996: Henry K. Hall, Jr.

1995: Robert H. Grubbs

1994: Helmut Ringsdorf

1993: Takeo Saegusa

1992: Robert W. Lenz

1991: Marshall Fixman

1990: Harold A. Scheraga

1989: William R. Krigbaum

1988: Pierre deGennes

1987: Vivian T. Stannett

1986: Herbert Morawetz

1985: Joseph P. Kennedy

1984: Harry R. Allcock

1983: Richard S. Stein

1982: John K. Stille

1981: E. J. Vandenberg

1980: George B. Butler

1979: Henri Benoit

1978: Junji Furukawa

1977: William J. Bailey

1976: Paul W. Morgan

1975: Leo Mandelkern

1974: John D. Ferry

1973: Turner Alfrey, Jr.

1972: Arthur V. Tobolsky

1971: Georges J. Smets

1970: Michael M. Szwarc

1969: Frank A. Bovey

1968: Charles G. Overberger

1967: Frank R. Mayo

1966: Walter H. Stockmayer

1965: Herman F. Mark

1964: Carl S. Marvel

Back to List of Awards

On behalf of the 2017 recipient Bruce J. Berne, Stephen Leone (center), accepted the award presented by sponsor representative, William D. Provine (right), and Allison A. Campbell, ACS President (left).