ACS is committed to helping combat the global COVID-19 pandemic with initiatives and free resources. Learn More

Priestley Medal

Purpose: To recognize distinguished services to chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of a gold medallion designed to commemorate the work of Joseph Priestley with a presentation box and a certificate. It may not be awarded more than once to the same individual. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background. The medal may be awarded not only to members of the Society, but also to non-members and to representatives of any nation. Members of the ACS Board of Directors are ineligible to receive this award.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: Established by ACS in 1922.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2020 JoAnne Stubbe

2019 K. Barry Sharpless

2018 Geraldine Richmond

2017 Tobin J. Marks

2016 Mostafa A. El-Sayed

2015 Jacqueline K. Barton

2014 Stephen J. Lippard

2013 Peter J. Stang

2012 Robert S. Langer

2011 Ahmed H. Zewail

2010 Richard N. Zare

2009 M. Frederick Hawthorne

2008 Gabor A. Somorjai

2007 George M. Whitesides

2006 Paul S. Anderson

2005 George A. Olah

2004 Elias J. Corey

2003 Edwin J. Vandenberg

2002 Allen J. Bard

2001 Fred Basolo

2000 Darleane C. Hoffman

1999 Ronald Breslow

1998 F. Albert Cotton

1997 Mary L. Good

1996 Ernest L. Eliel

1995 Sir Derek H. R. Barton

1994 Howard E. Simmons

1993 Robert W. Parry

1992 Carl Djerassi

1991 Harry B. Gray

1990 Roald Hoffmann

1989 George C. Pimentel

1988 Frank H. Westheimer

1987 John D. Roberts

1986 Karl A. Folkers

1985 Henry Taube

1984 Linus Pauling

1983 Robert S. Mulliken

1982 Bryce Crawford, Jr.

1981 Herbert C. Brown

1980 Milton Harris

1979 Glenn T. Seaborg

1978 Melvin Calvin

1977 Henry Gilman

1976 George S. Hammond

1975 Henry Eyring

1974 Paul J. Flory

1973 Harold C. Urey

1972 George B. Kistiakowsky

1971 Frederick D. Rossini

1970 Max Tishler

1969 Kenneth S. Pitzer

1968 William G. Young

1967 Ralph Connor

1966 William Oliver Baker

1965 William J. Sparks

1964 John C. Bailar, Jr.

1963 Peter J. W. Debye

1962 Joel H. Hildebrand

1961 Louis P. Hammett

1960 Wallace R. Brode

1959 H. I. Schlesinger

1958 Ernest H. Volwiler

1957 Farrington Daniels

1956 Carl S. Marvel

1955 Charles A. Thomas

1954 W. Albert Noyes, Jr.

1953 Robert Robinson

1952 Samuel C. Lind

1951 E. J. Crane

1950 Charles A. Kraus

1949 Arthur B. Lamb

1948 Edward R. Weidlein

1947 Warren K. Lewis

1946 Roger Adams

1945 Ian Heilbron

1944 James B. Conant

1941 Thomas Midgley, Jr.

1938 Marston T. Bogert

1935 William A. Noyes

1932 Charles L. Parsons

1929 Francis P. Garvan

1926 Edgar F. Smith

1923 Ira Remsen

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient K. Barry Sharpless (center) is presented his award by Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left), and Luis Echegoyen, ACS President-Elect (right).