Ralph F. Hirschmann Award in Peptide Chemistry

Sponsor: Merck Research Laboratories

Purpose: To recognize and encourage outstanding achievements in the chemistry, biochemistry, and biophysics of peptides.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The nominee must have made outstanding contributions in the chemistry, biochemistry, or biophysics of peptides. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (Presented biennially in even-numbered years.)

Establishment & Support: Merck Research Laboratories established the award in 1988. In 2014, this award will be presented biennially in even-numbered years.

Contact Information

Awards Office

American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2020 Alanna Schepartz

2018 Lila M. Gierasch

2016 Ronald T. Raines

2014 Samuel Danishefsky

2013 Dale L. Boger

2012 Jeffrey W. Kelly

2011 David J. Craik

2010 Stephen J. Benkovic

2009 Morten P. Meldal

2008 William F. DeGrado

2007 Samuel H. Gellman

2006 George Barany

2005 James P. Tam

2004 Richard A. Houghten

2003 Roger M. Freidinger

2002 Victor J. Hruby

2001 Daniel F. Veber

2000 Daniel S. Kemp

1999 Harold A. Scheraga

1998 Isabelle L. Karle

1997 Murray Goodman

1996 Steven G. Clarke

1995 Shumpei Sakakibara

1994 Stephen B. H. Kent

1993 Daniel H. Rich

1992 Louis A. Carpino

1991 Elkan R. Blout

1990 Bruce Merrifield

2018 recipient Lila M. Gierasch (center) presented her award by sponsor representative Robert M. Garbaccio (right) and Peter K. Dorhout, ACS President (left).