Roger Adams Award in Organic Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize and encourage outstanding contributions to research in organic chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of a medallion and a replica, a certificate, and $25,000. The award is presented biennially in odd-numbered years at the ACS national meeting. The recipient will deliver a lecture at the Biennial National Organic Chemistry Symposium of the ACS National Meeting and Symposium. Travel expenses to the symposium will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (biennial review).

Establishment & Support: Established in 1959 by Organic Syntheses, Inc. and Organic Reactions, Inc. Sponsored by Organic Syntheses, Organic Reactions, and the ACS Division of Organic Chemistry.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2017 Hisashi Yamamoto

2015 Larry E. Overman

2013 David A. Evans

2011 Robert H. Grubbs

2009 Andrew Streitwieser

2007 Samuel J. Danishefsky

2005 Jerrold Meinwald

2003 Albert Eschenmoser

2001 Ryoji Noyori

1999 Dieter Seebach

1997 K. Barry Sharpless

1995 Barry M. Trost

1993 Elias J. Corey

1991 Gilbert J. Stork

1989 George A. Olah

1987 Jerome A. Berson

1985 Donald J. Cram

1983 A. R. Battersby

1981 Nelson J. Leonard

1979 Melvin S. Newman

1977 William S. Johnson

1975 Rolf Huisgen

1973 Georg Wittig

1971 Herbert C. Brown

1969 Vladimir Prelog

1967 John D. Roberts

1965 Arthur C. Cope

1963 Paul D. Bartlett

1961 Robert B. Woodward

1959 Sir Derek H. R. Barton

2015 recipient Larry E. Overman (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Robert K. Boeckman, Jr., (right), and Diane Grob Schmidt, ACS President (left).