Past National Award Recipients

Priestley Medalist


Mostafa A. El-Sayed, is a Regents’ Professor and Julius Brown Chair at Georgia Institute of Technology , has conducted highly acclaimed chemistry research and served as a chemistry educator and journal editor. El-Sayed was recognized “for his seminal research focused on using the new properties of nanomaterials, and for his service to the chemistry community as editor and educator. Click here to view article in C&EN.


Jacqueline K. Barton, Arthur and Marian Hanisch Memorial Professor and chair of the division of chemistry and chemical engineering at California Institute of Technology, received the Priestley Medal, the American Chemical Society’s highest honor, in 2015.

Barton received the award for her work on electron transport in DNA, her dedication to training young investigators, and her unwavering support for the chemistry enterprise. Click here to view article in C&EN.