ACS Joins Scientific Societies in Requesting Confirmation of OSTP Director

July 18, 2022

Senator Maria Cantwell
Chairwoman of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation
511 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510 

Senator Roger Wicker
Ranking Member of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation
555 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510 

Dear Chairwoman Cantwell, Ranking Member Wicker, and Members of the Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation,

As advocates in the science and technology community, we write today to offer our strong support for President Biden’s nominee to lead the White House Office on Science and Technology Policy, Dr. Arati Prabhakar and urge her swift confirmation. 

Dr. Arati Prabhakar’s appointment as the President’s science advisor and nomination to lead the Office of Science and Technology Policy is a boon for the advancement of science, technology, and innovation in the U.S. Dr. Prabhakar’s reputation is that of a technical problem solver and talented manager. She will work across the federal government in order to drive economic growth, create jobs, and address critical threats to Americans’ public health and wellbeing.

Dr. Prabhakar is a proven leader who brings the right mix of multisector experience in government, industry, and academia, making her an outstanding choice to join the Cabinet as the OSTP Director.  Her PhD is in applied physics from the California Institute of Technology, she is the first woman to lead the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), she spent a decade in the private sector, and she led the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA). This extensive experience uniquely positions her to set and implement a path forward for U.S. science and technology.

Dr. Prabhakar is the ideal scientist and leader for this crucial role, and we urge Congress to approve her nomination as swiftly as possible. We thank you for your commitment to science and technology and stand ready to work with you to confirm Dr. Prabhakar to lead the OSTP.


American Anthropological Association
American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research
American Association for the Advancement of Science
American Chemical Society
American Educational Research Association
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
American Institute of Biological Sciences
American Physiological Society
American Psychological Association
American Society for Cell Biology
American Society for Microbiology
American Society of Agronomy
Association for Women in Science
Association of Science and Technology Centers

Coalition for the Life Sciences
Crop Science Society of America
Entomological Society of America
Federation of American Scientists
Georgia Institute of Technology
Lasker Foundation
Lupus and Allied Diseases Association, Inc.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Science and Technology Action Committee
Society for Neuroscience
Society of Vacuum Coaters
Soil Science Society of America